Men's Basketball

Chazz Patterson Named to the 2017 Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American Team

Chazz Patterson Named to the 2017 Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American Team

PHOENIX, AZ – After becoming the first ever Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Defensive Player of the Year from Saint Peter's University, senior guard Chazz Patterson (Browns Mills, NJ/Trenton Catholic) can add another accolade to his resume, as he was named to the 2017 Lefty Driesell Defensive All-American Team, the first in program history. Patterson is one of 25 Division I players to be named to the lineup that consists of the nation's top defensive players and becomes the first Defensive All-American from the MAAC since Rhamel Brown of Manhattan College made the team in 2014.

Patterson finished his senior campaign ranked second in the MAAC with 1.6 steals per game and second in total steals after recording 58 thefts on the season. His 58 steals were the ninth most in a single-season in program history and Patterson is the first Peacock to record over 50 steals in a season since Brandon Hall made 57 steals in 2011-12. Behind Patterson's defense, the Peacocks finished the season ranked fourth nationally in scoring defense. He led the team in steals on 15 different occasions in his senior season and tied his career-high of four steals in a game five different times this year. 

For his career, the Browns Mills, New Jersey native has recorded 142 steals, which places him 10th on the all-time Saint Peter's list and he carried the squad in steals 38 times over the course of his career. He also helped the Peacocks lead the conference in scoring defense for the fourth consecutive season.

Jevon Carter of West Virginia was named the recipient of the 2017 Lefty Driesell Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top defensive player.
Driesell won 786 games in 41 years at Davidson, Maryland, James Madison and Georgia State. He ranks eighth on the NCAA career Division I coaches victories list and his teams at each stop were known for playing tenacious defense. From 1969-1986 at Maryland, his teams posted a 348-159 record, won two Atlantic Coast Conference regular season titles and one tournament title.
Driesell also led Davidson, Georgia State and James Madison to the NCAA tournament, making him one of three coaches to reach the NCAAs with four different programs. His teams won a total of 16 regular season championships and six tournament championships.
Jaylin Airington - CSU Bakersfield
Dakarai Allen - San Diego State
Ehab Amin - Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Jordan Bell - Oregon
Tim Bond - Eastern Michigan
Chris Boucher - Oregon
Devontae Cacok - UNCW
Jevon Carter - West Virginia
Joseph Chartouny - Fordham
Tacko Fall - UCF
Ethan Happ - Wisconsin
Tra-Deon Hollins - Omaha
Ben Lammers - Georgia Tech
Paris Lee - Illinois State
Reggie Lynch - Minnesota
Hassan Martin - Rhode Island
Tahjere McCall - Tennessee State
Chazz Patterson - Saint Peter's
Joe Rahon - Saint Mary's
Khyri Thomas - Creighton
Liam Thomas - Nicholls State
Isaiah Wilkins - Virginia
Jay Wright - Louisiana
Sindarius Thornwell - South Carolina
Derrick White - Colorado

CIT Champions!!!
March 31, 2017 CIT Champions!!!